COMMISSIONER'S AGENDA 10:00 A.M. Thursday, July 14, 2016

PRESENT: Allan Underdal, Deb Brandon, Joe Pehan and Treva Nelson <u>Public comment is allowed on all agenda items at the direction of the Chairman and</u> <u>following Board rules.</u>

Approval of June 30, 2016 Minutes: Joe motioned to approve. Allan seconded the motion and the motion carried.

- 1. Public Hearing: Consider adoption of the Toole County Subdivision Regulations which include legislative updates through the 2015 legislative session. Allan opened the public hearing. Deb mentioned that the new Subdivision Regulations correspond with the new Growth Policy. Allan closed the public hearing and opened the public meeting.
- 2. Consider approval of Resolution 22-2016, a resolution adopting Toole County's Subdivision Regulations. **Deb motioned to approve. Joe seconded the motion and the motion carried.**
- Consider approval of Resolution 23-2016, a resolution adopting the Montana Association of Counties and Montana Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association's recommended jail standards. Joe motioned to approve. Deb seconded the motion and the motion carried.
- 4. Consider appointment of Darrell Stafford as chair of Toole County's Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) with a term to end 12/31/2017. **Deb motioned to approve. Joe seconded the motion and the motion carried.**
- Consider approval of a request by Prairie Oasis to spend \$11,869 toward the repair of the animal shelter's outside kennels. Funding for this project would come from Fund 7010: "Camp Collie". Deb motioned to approve. Joe seconded the motion and the motion carried.

Other Business:

The commissioners received a letter from Dorsey & Whitney, LLP asking to be approved as Bond Council for Toole County. The commissioners will send a letter approving them. Allan Underdal, Commission Chair Deb Brandon, Commissioner Joe Pehan, Commissioner Merle Raph, County Attorney Donna Whitt, Sheriff Dan B. Whitted, Coroner Commissioners' Office# 406-424-8310 tccomm@toolecountymt.gov



Debra Munson, Clerk of Court Boyd Jackson, Treasurer/Assessor Supt. of Schools Helen I. Schnee, Public Administrator Joe Rapkoch, Justice of the Peace Treva Nelson, Clerk & Recorder Clerk & Recorder's Office# 406-424-8300 Fax# 406-424-8301 tnelson@toolecountymt.gov

COUNTY OF TOOLE

226 1^{s⊤} Street South Toole County Courthouse, Shelby, MT 59474

RESOLUTION 22-2016

A RESOLUTION ADOPTING TOOLE COUNTY SUBDIVISION REGULATIONS TO REFLECT 2015 LEGISLATIVE CHANGES TO THE MONTANA SUBDIVISION AND PLATTING ACT

WHEREAS, Toole county wishes to adopt subdivision regulations in accordance with current law; and

WHEREAS, a hearing was conducted on the proposed regulations on July 14, 2016 with notice of the hearing published in the Shelby Promoter on June 29 and July 6. There were no members of the public in attendance nor any written comments received; and

WHEREAS, on July 14, the proposed adoption of the Toole County Subdivision Regulations was included in the posted agenda of the regular meeting of the Toole County Commissioners and there were no members of the public in opposition nor any written comments received; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Board of County Commissioners hereby adopt the Toole County Subdivision Regulations effective July 14, 2016.

THIS RESOLUTION HAS BEEN ADOPTED BY THE BOARD OF TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS ON JULY 14, 2016.

Inderda

Chairman

Commissioner

Commissioner

ATTEST:

Treva Nelson

Toole County Clerk & Recorder

Allan Underdal, Commission Chair Deb Brandon, Commissioner Joe Pehan, ommissioner Merle Raph, County Attorney Donna Whitt, Sheriff Dan B. Whitted, Coroner Commissioners' Office# 406-424-8310 tccomm@toolecountymt.gov



Debra Munson, Clerk of Court Boyd Jackson, Treasurer/Assessor Supt. of Schools Helen I. Schnee, Public Administrator Joe Rapkoch, Justice of the Peace Treva Nelson, Clerk & Recorder Clerk & Recorder's Office# 406-424-8300 Fax# 406-424-8301 tnelson@toolecountymt.gov

COUNTY OF TOOLE

226 1^{s⊤} Street South Toole County Courthouse, Shelby, MT 59474

RESOLUTION 23-2016

A RESOLUTION ADOPTING REVISED MONTANA ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES AND MONTANA SHERIFFS AND PEACE OFFICERS ASSOCIATION RECOMMENDED JAIL STANDARDS.

WHERAS; Toole County operates a Detention Center and is obligated to operate the Detention Center in a manner that complies with Constitutional and other legal requirements; and

WHEREAS; the County wishes to operate its Detention Center in a manner that complies with legal requirements and that protects the health and safety of persons detained, the staff of the detention center and the public; and

WHEREAS; the Detention Standards adopted by the Montana Association of Counties and the Montana Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association provide guidance that will help insure that the policies, procedures and physical condition of the Detention Center will meet Constitutional and other legal requirements and will help protect the health and safety of persons detained, detention center staff and the general public; and

WHEREAS; the Detention Standards are voluntary and not mandatory and are intended to serve as guidelines to best practices rather than establishing a required or mandated outcome.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS; that the Montana Association of Counties and Montana Sheriffs and Peace Officers Detention Standards are hereby adopted for the purpose of providing guidance in the development of detention center policies and procedures and any future alteration or new construction of detention center physical facilities. It is not intended that the Detention Standards establish any immediate requirements, rather the standards are adopted to help shape the development of policies and procedures and physical facility decisions regarding the Detention Center and to inform, within the limits of available resources, future budget decisions regarding services, staffing, and facilities at the Detention Center. **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED;** that the adoption of the Detention Standards does not create any right in any person not already established by the Constitution or other applicable law related to the Detention Center. The Detention Standards are adopted solely for the purpose of guiding the County in the future and ongoing operation of the detentions center subject to the limitations imposed by the facility and the availability of resources.

BOARD OF TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, DATED July 14, 2016.

allan Underdal

Chairman

Commissioner

las Commissioner

ATTEST: Juva Melson Treva Nelson

Toole County Clerk & Recorder