

Dan B. Whitted - Coroner Debra Munson - Clerk of Court Treva Nelson - Clerk and Recorder Joe Rapkoch - Justice of the Peace Boyd Jackson - Treasurer/Assessor/ Superintendent of Schools

COMMISSIONERS' AGENDA Thursday, January 4, 2018 10:00 A.M.

PRESENT: Deb Brandon, Joe Pehan, Mary Ann Harwood and Treva Nelson

<u>Public comment is allowed on all agenda items at the direction of the Chairman and following Board rules.</u>

Approval of December 28, 2017 Minutes: Mary Ann motioned to approve. Joe seconded the motion and the motion carried.

- 1. Consider approval of Resolution 1-2018, a resolution to approve a Chair and Vice-Chair for the Toole County Commission for 2018. **Mary Ann motioned to approve. Joe seconded the motion and the motion carried.**
- 2. Consider approval of Resolution 2-2018, a resolution to approve meeting dates for regular Commission meetings in 2018. **Joe motioned to approve. Mary Ann seconded the motion and the motion carried.**
- 3. Consider approval of Resolution 3-2018, a resolution to approve travel and per diem rates for Toole County employees for 2018. **Mary Ann motioned to approve. Joe seconded the motion and the motion carried.**
- 4. Consider approval of Resolution 4-2018, a resolution appointing the Commissioners to represent Toole County on boards and committees for 2018. **Joe motioned to approve. Mary Ann seconded the motion and the motion carried.**
- 5. Consider appointment of Linnet Doane to the Toole County Compensation Board with a term to end 12/31/2020. Mary Ann motioned to approve. Joe seconded the motion and the motion carried.



Dan B. Whitted - Coroner Debra Munson - Clerk of Court Treva Nelson - Clerk and Recorder Joe Rapkoch - Justice of the Peace Boyd Jackson - Treasurer/Assessor/ Superintendent of Schools

RESOLUTION 1-2018

A RESOLUTION TO ELECT THE CHAIR FOR THE BOARD OF TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FROM JANUARY 2018 THROUGH DECEMBER 2018

WHEREAS; the board of county commissioners must elect one of its members as the chair at the beginning of each calendar year per 7-4-2109, Montana Code Annotated and also appoint commissioner liaisons to county boards, and

WHEREAS; the chair must preside at all meetings of the board and in case of his/her absence or inability to act, the members present must by an order select one of their number to act temporarily as chair,

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED; that the Chair of the Board of Toole County Commissioners is Deb Brandon, commencing January, 2018 through December, 2018. Commissioner Joe Pehan is designated as Vice-Chair, and will preside over the meetings in case of the Chair's absence or inability to act.

BOARD OF TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, dated January 4, 2018.

Chair

Commissioner

Commissioner

ATTEST:

Clerk & Recorder



Dan B. Whitted - Coroner Debra Munson - Clerk of Court Treva Nelson - Clerk and Recorder Joe Rapkoch - Justice of the Peace Boyd Jackson - Treasurer/Assessor/ Superintendent of Schools

RESOLUTION 2-2018

A RESOLUTION SETTING COMMISSIONER MEETING DATES FOR THE CALENDAR YEAR JANUARY 1, 2018 THROUGH DECEMBER 31, 2018

WHEREAS; the governing body of the county shall establish by resolution a regular meeting date and notify the public of that date, per 7-5-2122 of the Montana Code Annotated; and

WHEREAS; the agenda for the regular Toole County Commissioners' meeting of January 4, 2018 was posted two days prior to the meeting, notifying the public of Resolution 2-2018, an agenda item setting meetings of the board of Toole County Commissioners for 2018; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED; that the Toole County Commissioners will hold their regular Board Meetings at 10 AM on Monday and Thursday of each week in which they have an agenda of business posted. These meetings shall be conducted in the office of the Toole County Commissioners in the Toole County Courthouse at 226 1st Street South, Shelby, Montana, commencing January 2018 through December, 2018; and

NOW THEREFORE ALSO BE IT RESOLVED; that the meeting agenda will be posted two days prior with the place, time and date in which public comment is allowed on all agenda items at the direction of the Chairman and following Board rules.

BOARD OF TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, dated January 4, 2018.

Chair

Commissioner

Commissioner

ATTEST:

Clerk & Recorde



Dan B. Whitted - Coroner Debra Munson - Clerk of Court Treva Nelson - Clerk and Recorder Joe Rapkoch - Justice of the Peace Boyd Jackson - Treasurer/Assessor/ Superintendent of Schools

RESOLUTION 3-2018

A RESOLUTION TO ADOPT TRAVEL/PER DIEM RATES FOR TOOLE COUNTY

WHEREAS, travel/per diem rates are set by the State of Montana, per 2-18-501 and 2-18-502, Montana Code Annotated; and

WHEREAS, the State may at any time during the year change these rates and the counties are notified; and

WHEREAS, Toole County has usually followed the travel/per diem rates of the State of Montana and for out of state travel, the maximum standard federal rate per day; and

WHEREAS, Toole County Commissioners have decided to deviate from the state rates in meal reimbursement: breakfast at \$6, lunch at \$9, and dinner at \$15 for a total daily rate of \$30; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED; that the Board of Toole County Commissioners have elected to use the travel/per diem rates allowable by the State of Montana with the exception of meal reimbursement changed to \$30 per day and to follow the federal standard travel/per diem rates for out of state travel/per diem, except when specifically amended by the Commissioners.

BOARD OF TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS dated January 4, 2018.

ommissioner

Commissioner

ATTEST:

Clerk & Recorde



Dan B. Whitted - Coroner Debra Munson - Clerk of Court Treva Nelson - Clerk and Recorder Joe Rapkoch - Justice of the Peace Boyd Jackson - Treasurer/Assessor/ Superintendent of Schools

RESOLUTION 4-2018

A RESOLUTION TO APPOINT THE TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS TO BOARD, COMMITTEE, AND ADVISORY ASSIGNMENTS FOR JANUARY 2018 THROUGH DECEMBER 2018

WHEREAS; the Toole County Commissioners have many obligations and responsibilities to represent Toole County on different boards, committees, and in other advisory capacities; and

WHEREAS; to properly represent Toole County on these boards, the duties need to be distributed out to the three commissioners, as the meeting times and dates sometimes conflict; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS; that the board, committee, and other appointments are assigned to the three Toole County Commissioners as follows:

Mary Ann Harwood

North Central Area Agency on Aging

Shelby Senior Center Board

Kevin/Sunburst Senior Center Board

Opportunities Inc.

Toole County Planning Board

Toole County Transit

Northern Transit Interlocal (Alternate for Joe)

Marias Medical Center Board

Museum Board

Toole County Safety Committee

Toole County Board of Health

Toole County Prevention Committee

Joe Pehan

Airport Board

Road/Weed Board

Fair Board

STC Cemetery Board

Shelby Mosquito Board

Marias Medical Center Board

Northern Transit Interlocal

Toole County Transit

Local Emergency Planning Committee

Public Safety Commission

Northern Tier Interoperability Consortium

Deb Brandon

Regional Juvenile Detention Board

The Center for Mental Health Governing Board

The Center for Mental Health – Local Advisory Board

Marias Heritage Center Condo Board

Toole County Health Foundation Board

Marias Medical Center Board

Toole County Transit

Northern Transit Interlocal

NETA/Port of Northern Montana

Sweetgrass Development

Shelby/Toole County Transportation & DUI Taskforce

NTC Cemetery Board

BOARD OF TOOLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, dated January 4, 2018.

Chair

Commissioner

Commissioner

ATTEST:

Clerk & Recorder